Friday, December 27, 2013

Top Ten 2014 Books I'm looking forward to.



Hey you guys! Welcome to the last day of the event.  The event runs for five consecutive days, the last full week of the year - Monday, December 23rd to Friday, December 27th. Five days in which you share of some of our favorite lists. If you want to join in the fun, here's the link.

I'm actually sad to hear it's over, I've had so much fun checking out people's lists and picks, but alas, all good things come to an end and whatnot.

Here are the top ten books I'm waiting for in 2014:

1. Last Book in The Darkest Minds Trilogy by Alexandra Bracken. 
No information is out on this book yet, no face, no name, nothing. But my God, I'm dying to read it! I mean, have you guys read the first two yet? HAVE YOU? Because if not then you're missing out big time, seriously.


2. Cress - Marissa Meyer
I am a huge fan of the books by Marissa, Cinder was my favorite book of 2012 and Scarlet is on my top ten books of 2013. So YES I am dying to read Cress! Especially since there's a new character introduced, or more like a previous character that's being integrated more than before into the story, which is Rapunzel's. Yeah, more fairytale characters kicking ass, love it!

Rapunzel’s tower is a satellite. She can’t let down her hair—or her guard. 
In this third book in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles series, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army. 
Their best hope lies with Cress, who has been trapped on a satellite since childhood with only her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker—unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice. 
When a daring rescue goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing stop her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only ones who can.


3.  Sweet Reckoning - Emily Higgins
I am so in love with this series. I would kill for Kai, he's so delicious! That trilogy gets me so giddy. It's one of the rare books with nephilim and fallen angels that I loved. Plus with the way things left off in book two, you know for a fact book three is going to be insane, I can't wait!

It’s time. 
Evil is running rampant and sweet Anna Whitt is its target. Nobody knows when or how the Dukes will strike, but Anna and her Nephilim allies will do anything necessary to rid the earth of the demons and their oppressive ways.
The stakes are higher than ever, and Anna is determined that the love she feels will be her strength, not a liability. But trying to protect the ones she loves while running for her life and battling demonic forces proves to be perilous—especially as faces are changing and trust is fleeting. When the Duke of Lust sends Anna’s great love, Kaidan Rowe, to work against her, Anna must decide how much she’s prepared to risk.

In the most sensual and fast-paced installment yet, Sweet Reckoning brings all the beloved Neph together one last time to fight for their freedom.


4. The Unbound - Victoria Schwab
The Archived was the first book I've read by Victoria, and I loved it. I hear the second book has more Wes in it so I am super excited about that because I was seriously enjoying him as a character in The Archived.

Imagine a place where the dead rest on shelves like books. Each body has a story to tell, a life seen in pictures that only Librarians can read. The dead are called Histories, and the vast realm in which they rest is the Archive.
Last summer, Mackenzie Bishop, a Keeper tasked with stopping violent Histories from escaping the Archive, almost lost her life to one. Now, as she starts her junior year at Hyde School, she's struggling to get her life back. But moving on isn't easy -- not when her dreams are haunted by what happened. She knows the past is past, knows it cannot hurt her, but it feels so real, and when her nightmares begin to creep into her waking hours, she starts to wonder if she's really safe. 
Meanwhile, people are vanishing without a trace, and the only thing they seem to have in common is Mackenzie. She's sure the Archive knows more than they are letting on, but before she can prove it, she becomes the prime suspect. And unless Mac can track down the real culprit, she'll lose everything, not only her role as Keeper, but her memories, and even her life. Can Mackenzie untangle the mystery before she herself unravels?

With stunning prose and a captivating mixture of action, romance, and horror, The Unbound delves into a richly imagined world where no choice is easy and love and loss feel like two sides of the same coin.

5. Lair of Dreams - Libba Bray
Sure I am not a huge fan of the cover of this book, but I absolutely can't wait to read it. It took me forever to recover from The Diviners, both emotionally and mentally, but that book was brilliant. It made me love Libba Bray's writing even more.

After a supernatural showdown with a serial killer, Evie O'Neill has outed herself as a Diviner. Now that the world knows of her ability to "read" objects, and therefore, read the past, she has become a media darling, earning the title, "America's Sweetheart Seer." But not everyone is so accepting of the Diviners' abilities...

Meanwhile, mysterious deaths have been turning up in the city, victims of an unknown sleeping sickness. Can the Diviners descend into the dreamworld and catch a killer?


6. The Retribution of Mara Dyer - Michelle Hodkin
I haven't read the second book yet because book one ended on a horrible cliffhanger and I am waiting for book three to come out before I can read it. That book was so good though! 

It had to end sometime, but Mara had no idea it would end like this. Experience the mind-blowing conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Mara Dyer trilogy.

Loyalties are betrayed, guilt and innocence tangle, and fate and chance collide in this shocking conclusion to Mara Dyer’s story.


7. The Forever Song - Julie Kagawa
This is one of my absolute favorite vampire series out there. At least my favorite this year, I  loved The
Immortal Immortal Rules and The Eternity Cure, which also had an absolutely heart-wrenching cliffhanger. (It still has no cover yet.

VENGEANCE WILL BE HERS 
Allison Sekemoto once struggled with the question: human or monster? 
With the death of her love, Zeke, she has her answer. 
MONSTER 
Allie will embrace her cold vampire side to hunt down and end Sarren, the psychopathic vampire who murdered Zeke. But the trail is bloody and long, and Sarren has left many surprises for Allie and her companions—her creator, Kanin, and her blood brother, Jackal. The trail is leading straight to the one place they must protect at any cost—the last vampire-free zone on Earth, Eden. And Sarren has one final, brutal shock in store for Allie. 

In a ruined world where no life is sacred and former allies can turn on you in one heartbeat, Allie will face her darkest days. And if she succeeds, triumph is short-lived in the face of surviving forever alone.


8. Panic - Lauren Oliver
I don't know much about this book yet, all I know is that it sounds incredible and I can't wait to get my hands on it!

Panic began as so many things do in Carp, a dead-end town of 12,000 people in the middle of nowhere: because it was summer, and there was nothing else to do.
Heather never thought she would compete in Panic, a legendary game played by graduating seniors, where the stakes are high and the payoff is even higher. She’d never thought of herself as fearless, the kind of person who would fight to stand out. But when she finds something, and someone, to fight for, she will discover that she is braver than she ever thought.
Dodge has never been afraid of Panic. His secret will fuel him, and get him all the way through the game, he’s sure of it. But what he doesn't know is that he’s not the only one with a secret. Everyone has something to play for.

For Heather and Dodge, the game will bring new alliances, unexpected revelations, and the possibility of first love for each of them—and the knowledge that sometimes the very things we fear are those we need the most.

9. The Rule of Three - Eric Walters
I heard a lot about this book, and that it's very great, better than The 5th Wave, so I can't wait to read it!

One shocking afternoon, computers around the globe shut down in a viral catastrophe. At sixteen-year-old Adam Daley’s high school, the problem first seems to be a typical electrical outage, until students discover that cell phones are down, municipal utilities are failing, and a few computer-free cars like Adam’s are the only vehicles that function. Driving home, Adam encounters a storm tide of anger and fear as the region becomes paralyzed. Soon—as resources dwindle, crises mount, and chaos descends—he will see his suburban neighborhood band together for protection. And Adam will understand that having a police captain for a mother and a retired government spy living next door are not just the facts of his life but the keys to his survival, in The Rule of Three by Eric Walters.

10. The Murder Complex - Lindsay Cummings
I've been dying to read this book for over a year now, when I first heard about it, so yes, finally it's time!

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.
Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.
The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

5 comments:

  1. Cress, Sweet Reckoning... where is Ignite Me?! LOL. Those three are the three I see most often in these posts. I have The Murder Complex from Edelweiss! Honestly, I'm not super excited to read it or anything, but like, EVERYONE ELSE IS, so I downloaded it. Peer pressure for the win! Same with Panic lol.

    Have a fabulous weekend!

    Check out my Top Ten post!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Well, uhum, I haven't read Shatter Me, so yeah I don't know how that series goes.
      I do have a copy of both Panic and The Murder Complex from Edelweiss though, it's just different knowing they're not out yet.

      Happy holidays!

      Delete
  2. I'm eagerly waiting for Cress too but my most anticipated book for next year is Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor. I'm obsessed with the series!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I haven't read the rest of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series to be honest, but I am looking forward to!

      Delete