Monday, May 11, 2015

The Secrets of Attraction Book Review

Author: Robin Constantine
ISBN: 006227953X
Book Genre: YA Contemporary
Release Date: April 28th 2015
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Book Source: Edelweiss


Goodreads Synopsis:

Set in the same world as The Promise of Amazing, this smart, surprising, and romantic follow-up to Robin Constantine's debut novel follows two New Jersey teens as they become friends and fall in love. Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Sarah Mlynowski, and Jennifer E. Smith.
Madison Pryce thinks she's got everything figured out—she's working on a portfolio for a summer art program and hanging with her friends. Plus she has her hot boyfriend, Zach. But then a visit from a family friend turns Maddie's life upside down.
Jesse McMann is still reeling from a breakup that shattered his heart and his band. Then pride (and some goading from his bass player and fellow barista) forces him to find a new drummer—and the inspiration to write music again.
Kismet arrives in the unlikely form of Grayson Barrett, who tries out for Jesse's band, and whose girlfriend is BFFs with the cute girl who orders a chai latte after yoga every Thursday: Maddie. What Jesse and Maddie thought they knew about the secrets of attraction and the rules of romance changes once they start falling for each other.


Review:

I was a huge fan of the first book in this series, The Promise of Amazing, so I was genuinely excited to read this one. I absolutely loved it as well!

 Recently I felt like there's a standard way characters react throughout a book when they're suffering from a break up due to their boyfriend/girlfriend cheating on them, especially when it was with their supposed best friend. Admittedly, I feel like the relationship between Jesse and Duncan wasn't explored more than Jesse saying he was his best friend and that they'd known each other forever being in the same band. So yes, I get why Jesse would kick him out, but I wanted more on their story, their friendship, even if they never got it back. I'm disappointed that didn't happen. However, I'm impressed with the unique take on his character. He didn't slut shame Hannah and hate her, he didn't call her names with his friends and vow to make her miserable. He genuinely cared about her, he was still in love with her and didn't lash out to be mean and show he was over her. He even told her he wanted her to be happy, he just didn't want to see it if it was with Duncan. Jesse was a pretty fabulous guy. The focus of the story was more on him accepting how he was part of the reason it happened, how it feels different when the right person comes into the picture.

With Madison, she's always been close with her mother since it was just the two of them. Which is how she was roped into yoga, but it seems that led to more serious things than she had expected. Madison wasn't big on PDA or sure how to react to big gestures from paramours, she liked being in control, which is why her interest in Jesse threw her for a loop. I like that their love wasn't at first sight, that it grew and simmered until it just happened. I also love that when secrets came out with her mother she had a very mature approach, that she didn't want to run away or get drunk/high to forget about it. She was upset, and yes ignored her mother a little, and yes they fought and didn't speak for a bit, but she never told her mother out loud she hated her. She was struggling with the news, but she knew in her mind that their fight will end, that they're a team and that they'll always be that way, it was just hard to come to terms with this news.

Basically, yes. I loved the book, so much more than the first one even and I can't wait to read more by the author, she's incredible! Also, I kind of want someone like Jesse. 

Rating: 5/5!

2 comments:

  1. Aww man I need to read these books! I love love, so this sounds like my kind of read!

    ReplyDelete